Clans gather at the 2017 Tattoo

Clans gather at the 2017 Tattoo

Clans at the 2017 Tattoo

2017 is Scotland’s ‘Year of Heritage, History and Archaeology’, and The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo will be taking a vibrant and exciting journey through the theme ‘Splash of Tartan’, playing host to a stunning array of performers from all points of the compass.

The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo will celebrate the heritage, colour and diversity of Scotland’s global family both near and far to ignite a renewed interest in Scotland’s national fabric while encouraging people in communities across the world to explore their potential links with Scotland.

As part of the programme the Tattoo and the Standing Council of Scottish Chiefs have also joined together to involve Scottish Clans and Families.  Clan Chiefs have been invited to lead their clansmen to Edinburgh Castle, on their own special designated evenings, and to take part in the opening ceremony of the Tattoo which runs between 4–26 August 2017.

In addition, everyone who attends the Tattoo - whether they have a clan connection or not - is invited to dress for the part; a rich mixture of tartan clothes, headgear and accoutrements of all forms.  It is hoped Edinburgh will be awash with tartan through August. To book tickets or check availability click the “Buy Tickets” button below.

For a limited time only, visitors looking to book tickets to sit in their designated clans seated section can contact their Clan Chief directly. You can find out more details about your clan and the relevant chief at www.clanchiefs.org.uk or by emailing info@clanchiefs.org.uk.  This promotion will end on 31st March. 

 

Day Date Time Clan/Family
Thursday 3 August 9.30 Macnab and Hay
Friday 4 August 9.00 Arthur and Murray
Saturday 5 August 7.30 Fraser and Gunn
Saturday 5 August 10.30 Hunter, Macdonald and MacKay
Monday 7 August 9.00 Macauley and MacMillan
Tuesday 8 August 9.00 Ewing and Macpherson
Wednesday 9 August 9.00 Broun, Maclean and Wood
Thursday 10 August 9.00 Henderson and Napier
Friday 11 August 9.00 Leslie, Moffat and Urquhart
Saturday 12 August 7.30 Donnachaidh and Oliphant
Saturday 12 August 10.30 Macneil, Macrae and Marjoribanks
Monday 14 August 9.00 Forbes and Wallace
Tuesday 15 August 9.00 Macleod and Mackenzie 
Wednesday 16 August 9.00 Campbell and Sinclair 
Thursday 17 August 9.00 Borthwick and Skene
Friday 18 August 9.00 Graham and Stewart
Saturday 19 August 7.30 Colquhoun and Matheson
Saturday 19 August 10.30 Currie and Maclea
Monday 21 August 9.00 Buchanan, Hannay and MacGregor
Tuesday 22 August 9.00 Kincaid and Maclaine
Wednesday 23 August 9.00 Agnew and Elliot
Thursday 24 August 9.00 Carmichael and MacThomas
Friday 25 August 9.00 Bruce and Durie
Saturday 26 August 7.30 Jardine, Macintyre and Maclennan
Saturday 26 August 10.30 Cameron, Clan Ranald and Maclaren
Tickets

Book early to avoid disappointment