The King's Own Scottish Borderers (25th)« Previous Page
The King's Own Scottish Border Regiment was mustered in 1689, originally called the Earl of Leven's.
The Borderers' military history dates back to honours in Namur in 1695, Gallipoli in 1915-16 and Dunkirk in 1940.During the turbulent days of 1689, when the citizens of Edinburgh were in a state of alarm at the prospect of an attack by Jacobite forces, David Earl of Leven was authorised 'with all expedition to levie one Regiment of Foot'. This he achieved in the remarkably short period of two hours. Named after him initially as 'Leven's Regiment', it was soon to be in action at the Battle of Killiecrankie. But this was not to be the Regiment's last conflict with the Jacobites, for it is unique in the Army in having also fought at Sherriffmuir in 1715 and at Culloden in 1746.
The King's Own Scottish Borderers are one of the six infantry regiments which 'gained immortal glory' at the Battle of Minden in 1759 by advancing against a superior force of French Cavalry. This battle commemorated annually on the first of August when the Regiment wear red roses in their headdress following the tradition that the soldiers had picked roses as they advanced through gardens before the battle. This custom was even observed by Borderers in 1944 when they mounted an attack on Minden Day during the invasion of Normandy - for they attached to their helmets the roses which they plucked from the hedgerows.
During the last fifty years the King's Own Scottish Borderers have seen action in Palestine, Korea, Malaya, Aden, Borneo and The Gulf.
Regiment Museum:The Barracks, Berwick Upon Tweed
Support The Tattoo
Become a Friend of the Tattoo.
Just £25 per year for a single membership
- Priority Booking
- Membership pack & Magazine
- Special Friends' events
- Save 10% on purchases in the Tattoo shop